Testimonials

Testimonials

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
We had the best family holiday ever at Mill Farm! My children 5 & 2 are still talking about it and asking if we can go back 3 months after the holiday. The facilities were excellent, but what really made the holiday was the Dyke family hospitality. We went for a few day trips, there is plenty to do in the area, but to be honest the children would have been happy with all day, everyday on the farm.
Lisa T.

 

Fantastic Holiday

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I stayed at Mill Farm for a week with my 10 yr old & 7 yr old as a single parent & it was absolutely brilliant! The chalets are really comfortable & everything that you need for your stay is provided. The family are all absolutely gorgeous and strike a perfect balance between being around enough if you need anything but also leave you to enjoy yourselves. There is loads for the kids to do on the farm & plenty of other interesting stuff to do in the area, nice walks, great pubs etc. Invariably they spent most of their time out playing with the other kids there so I even got to read a couple of books! I would definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a really relaxing time. We all loved it and will definitely be going back!

Kathryn C.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
 Mill Farm is a beautiful place to be.Our children loved playing in the wide open spaces. Lily loved being able to collect the eggs for our breakast everyday. The Dyke family gave us very warm welcome and we felt at home instantly. It is a good base for exploring Wiltshire and all it has to offer. We will be back next year! We could not reccomend this holiday enough.
Ian D.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This fabulous and idyllic setting was truly a little bit of luxury whilst getting in touch with nature. I totally forgot that we had no electricity; the lanterns and cosy fairy lights were more than enough to light the lodge and keep us cosy! There was lovely hot running water in our own separate toilet and shower, so cold showers were never a worry. A lovely little wood burning stove was very easy to use and a joy to cook on, as well as making the lodge nice and warm and cosy of an evening. There were lots of homely touches to the decor and lots of lovely little details, very homely and comfortable.
It was just myself and my partner who went, and it was a lovely size for us both, and would comfortably accommodate 4 adults, or a family with children. During our stay, also on the site was a family with 2 children, who seemed to enjoy themselves! It was great to see the kids enjoying themselves in the straw play area and the little wendy house, zooming around in the mini John Deere Gator Tractor and looking at the animals including ducks, geese, chickens, donkeys and cows. My partner and I also really enjoyed seeing all the animals, and collecting lovely fresh eggs in the morning from the free range chickens on site.
The Dyke family, whose farm on which we were staying, were so friendly, popping by most days, morning or evening, to check that everything was okay and to ask if we needed anything. They were so accommodating and so passionate about what they do there.
On site is the honesty shop, stocked with plenty of things you could want for your stay, including fresh meats, snacks, drinks, toiletries and many other things. There are also sevreal shops and supermarkets within a few miles in the local town of Devizes.
The site is fairly central to many attractions and days out. Longleat Safari Park is a 30(ish) minute drive away and is a must for everyone!!
I cannot reccommend this glamping site enough; it was one of the best holidays I have had for years. It had everything we could have wanted; central location, idyllic setting, relaxing and cosy accommodation and a wonderful family run glamping site. 10/10 for everything!!

Asha L.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
 The family look after you brilliantly and the tent/chalets are very inspiring, spacious and cosy, very tastefully done in a country style. The surrounding views are lovely. The whole feeling at he farm is relaxed and there are lots of fun activities to get stuck into whether as a pair or as a group of friends. We spent lots of time on the canal, on walks and exploring. Its a nice piece of Britain. 😉
Lucy C.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
 Our family spent a recent weekend glamping at Mill Farm in Wiltshire for our son’s 6th birthday treat, and had a brilliant time. The weather was disappointingly wet – surprise! – and windy, but that didn’t spoil it for us. The tents were HUGE – three bedrooms! and we felt warm and dry the whole time, and very comfortable. The beds were large and soft, and we slept like logs. The children slept in bunk beds, which they both adored.

Our six year old was in heaven – quickly made friends with similar-aged children also staying there, and loved collecting eggs in the morning, riding on the donkeys and the child-sized tractor, climbing on the hay bales, and petting the rabbit. Our 20 month old daughter loved seeing the ducks and geese and having space to run around. My husband enjoyed the tour of the working organic farm and riding the adult-sized tractor. I liked the wine, the comfy beds and the fresh air …

The holiday is self-catering, and you can also buy food at the honesty shop, which has most things you’d need, and if not, the village shop isn’t too far away. It was fun to cook on the Aga, especially the eggs we’d collected ourselves, and we also ate at The Black Horse Inn and the Rowdey Cow. There was a comprehensive book in the tent listing everything you need to know for your stay, from the code for the Wi-Fi and how to charge the electric lamps – there’s no electricity in the tents, but there is in the honesty shop – to which local pubs and restaurants are good, the length and difficulty of walks, and what activities are available in the area. There’s certainly plenty to do.

Farmers Joe, Issey and Chris made us feel very welcome and answered all our questions about the animals and farm life. We’d definitely go back, perhaps when they’ve built the tree-house they were talking about!

LondonKiwi.

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
 We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Mill Farm, where Joe, Izzy and Chris provided excellent warm hospitality, creating the perfect balance between safari-feel glamping and a gentle guiding hand whenever it was needed. We had a really fun time and were very comfortable camping in the lodge with its great beds and lovely wood burning stove. We enjoyed superb al-fresco BBQs, beautiful sunsets, night walks, clay pidgeon shooting and donkey rides and some back to your childhood games in the play hay! Nearby we had some lovely canal-side walks and pub stops which ticked all our out-and-about in the countryside boxes. Thanks to the whole family for a great all round experience.
Jay U.